The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

the-language-of-flowers
Title
The Language of Flowers
Author:  Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Length:  334 pages
Genre:  Contemporary Fiction
Content Notes:  Language (including brief strong language)


Victoria was raised in the foster system from the time she was a baby. When she turned 18 years old, she had a certain amount of time in a transitional home to find a job and get set up on her own. But instead of looking for jobs, all she wanted to do was grow flowers. For Victoria, flowers were a part of her world that was therapeutic for her. She also has a gift for matching the right flowers with the right person. This gripping novel takes you on a journey through Victoria’s life as she tries to deal with the past and find healing. You will not want to put this book down.


Quotes from the Book

…it seemed that Earl, and then Bethany, walked home with a bouquet of flowers expecting change, and the very belief in the possibility instigated a transformation.” (pg. 113)


 

4 thoughts on “The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Reading – February 2017 |

  2. I just finished this, Karen, and you are right. I couldn’t put it down. I really enjoyed it! 🙂 I found the foster care inside look was so sobering and I loved learning about flower meanings. I’ve read about that before a little bit and there is some reference, I believe in older classics to it, but I find it fascinating. I’m tempted to go learn more about the meanings of flowers. I just love flowers so much. 🙂

    Like

    • I feel like this is a great pick for a book club. So much you could discuss! And yes, the idea of flowers conveying meaning is a real thing. Like you, I find the whole idea of floriography interesting! From what I understand, it dates way back thousands of years ago. And there was a huge interest in it (called floriography) that flourished in the Victorian era when people would use flowers and floral arrangements to express meanings/feelings that they couldn’t talk about in society. I don’t know if you watch Hallmark movies or not, but there’s a Hallmark movie called “Flower Girl” and in it, this concept of specific meanings for flowers plays a role.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

