Persuasion by Jane Austen

persuasion
Title
Persuasion
Author:  Jane Austen
Length:  236 pages
Genre:  Classic Literature
Content Notes:  I found it to be a bit wordy and tedious in some places.


Anne was in love with Captain Wentworth; but she allowed others to persuade her not to attach herself to him. In this classic novel, Anne has to find that balance between being open to persuasion and standing firm on her own convictions. This is a story of love, regrets, second chances, and determining when to be persuaded and when not to be. In true Austen style, it is a story of love lost and found. It doesn’t take the place of my favorite Austen novel (Pride and Prejudice); but amidst the wordiness and rambling sections, this novel grew on me.


Quotes from the Book

…there could have been no two hearts so open, no tastes so similar, no feelings so in unison; no countenances so beloved.” (Ch. 8)

A man does not recover from such a devotion of the heart to such a woman. He ought not; he does not.” (Ch. 20)

You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone forever.” (Ch. 23)

11 thoughts on “Persuasion by Jane Austen

    • Well, I loved Pride and Prejudice. But so far, that’s the only one I’ve *loved.* Persuasion was good but tedious at times as I mentioned in my blog post. It did start to grow on me and I might even re-read it at some point. As you know, I tried Emma a year or two ago and just couldn’t get into it. I’d be curious to know if you like Charles Dickens’ works.

      Like

      • I have only read A Christmas Carol, A Cricket in the Hearth, Great Expectations, and half of Oliver Twist. I like Dickens, he is considered the number 1 Victorian writer, -because, I believe, all his work, and the popularity he had. But while I like him, there’s so many Victorian writers that I LOVE (George Eliot, Gaskell, The Brontes…), and not only, at the same time (XIX century), there’s SO MANY Spanish writers I ADORE, like Galdós, that, whenever I contemplate reading a Dickens, there’s so many other titles that I end up choosing. Another thing is that as an English as a Second Language reader, his books don’t get that deep, and I find it very hard to understand his humor, or to read the dialect transcript of his Pickwick Papers, (which I have tried to read twice). I end up thinking I rather read them in Spanish, and then I always think that, if I’m going to read Dickens in translation -which to me it’s perfectly fine, though, so I capture more of the tone, humor, and enjoy the characters he so well crafts-, why not read a Spanish book by Galdós, who also has humor, crafts characters like no one -in Spanish, lol-, and who places his novels in the context of Madrid, or Spain, like Dickens does London/England like no other! Also, every time I think about embarking on a long Dickens title, I feel tempted to pick a long Russian title instead, lol. But, short answer, I like Dickens, yes. (I’ve watched some of his books in movies, and I like them a lot).

        Like

          • The reason I asked is because recently, I’ve had several conversations with different people where it turned out that if they liked Jane Austen’s novels, they didn’t particularly care for Dickens’ novels. And if they liked Dickens, they didn’t particularly care for Austen. I found that interesting.

            I haven’t read very many Victorian era writers yet. Austen, Dickens, and Gaskell…yes.

            What I really liked about North and South by Gaskell is that I really appreciate how Gaskell gave the different perspectives of factory owner and factory worker at that time. I thought it was well-written even though I actually liked the BBC mini-series better than the book.

            I think I’d like to read another Gaskell novel at some point. I’ve not read any Bronte books. And I’ve not read anything by Galdos.

            As far as Austen and Dickens, I haven’t quite decided if I like one’s writing more than the others yet…or if I like them both the same. 😉 I still want to read A Tale of Two Cities. My husband says it and David Copperfield are his favorite Dickens’ novels.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Interesting, it’s either Dickens or Austen for most of your friends! I think with me it’s because Spanish and not English is my first language that it’s not ‘either’, though I like both to some extent. I think I’m interested in A Tale of Two Cities too for my next Dickens. There’s a lot of good literature in the XIX century in English and worldwide.

            Like

    • You had mentioned before that Persuasion is your favorite Austen novel. I’d love to hear why this one tops the list for you. 🙂

      Like

      • I think it’s just Anne’s character of kindness and humility under the horrible family circumstances she finds herself in after her mother’s death. I love that she grows also in ability to speak for herself, yet still retains much of her sweet disposition and character which Wentworth misjudged in a small way, I think. I’m also a sucker for second chances and that she is considered an “old maid” and just glad that in the end Wentworth extends grace. 🙂

        Like

        • I love that she grows in her ability to speak for herself as well. But she also understood the value of taking advice from others as well. And yes, I too, love a second chance story. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Reading – January 2017 |

Leave a Comment

