David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

david-copperfield

Title David Copperfield
Author:  Charles Dickens
Length:  791 pages
Genre:  Classic Literature
Content Notes:  This is a long book; but the length shows the author’s ability to really develop the characters.


In this classic novel, Dickens tells the life story of David Copperfield. He does a superb job of developing the characters and leaving no loose ends when you finish the last chapter. The novel deals with a fair bit of heavy issues:  hardship and cruelty, poverty, death, loss, scandal, and misplaced love. However, it’s also filled with themes of enduring friendship, unconditional love, forgiveness, kindness, and strength of character to overcome. This is obviously not a light read; yet, Dickens manages to make it feel less heavy at times by sprinkling in humor here and there. Don’t let the length cause you to look over this book. While there may be some wordiness at times, it’s truly a well-written classic.


Quotes from the Book

Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these pages must show.

My meaning simply is, that whatever I have tried to do in life, I have tried with all my heart to do well; that whatever I have devoted myself to, I have devoted myself to completely; that in great aims and in small, I have always been thoroughly in earnest.

5 thoughts on “David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

    • I tried the audio book the first time I was reading it and it didn’t work for me. Audio is hard for me with fiction. I think I get distracted too easily. Ha! It works so much better for me if, when I’m listening to an audio of a fiction book, I can follow along in the book. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Reading – January 2017 |

  2. Pingback: A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens |

Leave a comment

