What I’ve Been Reading – January 2017

This is just a quick look at books I read in January.

robert-frosts-poemsRobert Frost’s Poems
With an Introduction and Commentary by Louis Untermeyer

Reading for Growth Reading Challenge Category
A Book of Poetry, a Play, or an Essay Collection

I am not a big poetry person; so I am trying to be more intentional about incorporating more poetry into my reading life. What I liked about this book is that it contained commentary that gave insight into Frost’s poetry. While I didn’t like every poem in the book, I did have some favorites. My favorite poems were Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening, The Road Not Taken, and A Time to Talk.   READ MORE


david-copperfieldDavid Copperfield
By Charles Dickens

Reading for Growth Reading Challenge Category 
A Book That’s More Than 600 Pages

I started to read David Copperfield several years ago but never finished it. I decided it was time to pick this one back up and start it all over again. In this classic novel, Dickens tells the life story of David Copperfield. He does a superb job of developing the characters and leaving no loose ends when you finish the last chapter.   READ MORE


persuasionPersuasion
By Jane Austen

Reading for Growth Reading Challenge Category
A Book Published Before You Were Born

I’ve seen I don’t know how many movie/mini-series productions of Jane Austen’s works. But until last year, I had not read any of her books in their entirety. I had tried to read several of them in years past but never finished any of them. Last year, I finally read Pride and Prejudice and loved it. I found that I didn’t like Persuasion quite as much as Pride and Prejudice though. It felt tedious to read at times with its wordiness. However, the novel grew on me and I think this is one I would read again.   READ MORE


the-bookshop-on-the-cornerThe Bookshop on the Corner
By Jenny Colgan

Reading for Fun Reading Challenge Category
A Book Set Somewhere You’ve Never Been But Would Like to Visit

England, Ireland, and Scotland are all places I’ve never been to but would love to visit sometime. And The Bookshop on the Corner happens to take place in England *and* Scotland. The main character, Nina, leaves her home in England to start a mobile bookstore in a small town in Scotland. This is a lighter read but has its moments of depth. (Heads up for language, course talk, and brief racy content.)   READ MORE


welcome-to-silver-street-farmWelcome to Silver Street Farm
By Nicola Davies

This is a cute children’s chapter book about three children who end up starting a farm in their city.
READ MORE


3 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading – January 2017

  1. I want to get an anthology of Emily Dickinson’s poetry. We enjoyed her for a term awhile ago, and she has really grown on me. I’m slowly listening to David Copperfield on Librivox mainly during walks. Love the British accent of the reader, adds a lot. Persuasion is actually my fav JA title, with P&P a close second, I loved reading your thoughts. I think I have the bookshop one on hold? Or on a list? Thanks for the review. You had me at England. 😏

    Like

    • I actually would like to read a book of Emily Dickinson’s poetry. Maybe that will be my next pick for poetry!
      I’ll be doing a post on The Bookshop on the Corner soon (as well as the other titles in this post) and I’ll share a bit more info. on the book. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: What’s Helping Me Right Now |

Leave a comment

