2017 Reading Challenge

I finally made a decision as to whether or not I want to participate in another reading challenge or just put together my own reading list for the year. *Drum roll please*…….I am going to participate in Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2017 Reading Challenge! This will be my second year participating in Modern Mrs. Darcy’s reading challenges and I’m excited about it!

This year, there are two challenges that you can choose from OR you can do both. I will be doing the Reading for Growth Challenge. And I can fulfill my own personal reading goals for 2017 with this challenge as well! Also, I wouldn’t be surprised if I read at least some books for the Reading for Fun Challenge. 🙂

So without further ado, here’s my initial list of possibilities for the categories. These are just ideas of what I *might* read. I will be listing several options for some categories; that doesn’t mean I’ll be reading all of the ones listed. They are simply options. Also, I’m participating in a local book club this year so some of those books (that have yet to be determined) might fit some categories. 🙂

reading-for-growth

A Newberry Award Winner or Honor Book

  • A Wrinkle in Time  by Madeleine L’Engle
  • The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

A Book in Translation

  • And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer by Fredrik Backman

A Book That’s More than 600 Pages

  • The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

A Book of Poetry, a Play, or an Essay Collection

  • Robert Frost’s Poems
  • Our Town by Thornton Wilder (a play)
  • The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde (a play)

A Book of Any Genre that Addresses Current Events

  • Still to be determined

An Immigrant Story

  • Mama’s Bank Account by Kathryn Forbes

A Book Published Before You Were Born

  • Persuasion by Jane Austen
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Three Books by the Same Author

  • The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins
    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Mockingjay

A Book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks Author

  • The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood
    In one of the comments on Anne’s (Modern Mrs. Darcy) post on her picks for the challenge, this was one of the books asked about if it would work for this category. Anne said she remembered that in her interview with the author, the author had said that one of the main characters was based on her own experiences as a child. So she said to go for it. So I’m choosing it for my pick for this category. I’ve been wanting to read this book for awhile now.

A Book with an Unreliable Narrator or Ambiguous Ending

  • Til We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis
  • The Story of the Treasure Seekers by E. Nesbit
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

A Book Nominated for an Award in 2017

  • Still to be determined

A Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award Winner

  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  • The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
  • Beloved by Toni Morrison
  • The Sea Around Us by Rachel Carson

 

reading-for-fun

Even though my focus for this year is the Reading for Growth Challenge, I have jotted down a few titles I’m interested in reading that would fit some categories in the Reading for Fun Challenge. I don’t know if I’ll get to these titles or not. We’ll see. 🙂

A Book Set Somewhere You’ve Never Been But Would Like to Visit

  • The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan

A Book You’ve Already Read

  • The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

A Juicy Memoir

  • A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg
  • Bread & Wine by Shauna Niequist

A Book About Books or Reading

  • 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

A Book in a Genre You Usually Avoid

For me, this would be detective type/mystery novels. I might try to stretch myself in this area this year. Here’s a couple of titles I’m considering:

  • The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Favorite Father Brown Stories by G. K. Chesterton

A Book Recommended by Someone with Great Taste

  • Peace Like a River by Leif Enger

A Book You Were Excited to Buy or Borrow But Haven’t Read Yet

  • The Enchanted April by Elizabeth Von Arnim
  • Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons

A Book About a Topic or Subject You Already Love

Well, that would be books! LOL So since there’s already a category for this, I’ll put one of the titles here. 🙂

  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

 

3 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenge

  1. Pingback: This and That – January 14, 2017 |

Leave a Comment

