My Top Favorite Reads of 2016

Do you find it hard to pick favorite books sometimes? That’s how it is for me with trying to pick favorites from the books I read this year. I enjoyed a lot of the books; so picking favorites is not an easy thing to do! But I can say there are definitely some that rise to top of the favorites list. So, today I’m going to share some of my top favorites. I give all these books five stars.

The Giver Series by Lois Lowry

Until this year, I had never read any books in the dystopian genre. Then I chose The Giver for one of the reading challenge categories and went on to read the entire series. Each book in the series was hard for me to put down. I thought that Lois Lowry did an excellent job of taking different characters and storylines in the different books and weaving them all together in sometimes very unexpected ways. My husband listened to the audiobooks for this series and we were able to discuss the books together. These books tackle some pretty weighty issues which can bring about some good discussion. Also, the first book of this series, The Giver, was made into a movie. I thought the movie was really good, even though it does differ from the book some.

The Reading Promise

The Reading Promise by Alice Ozma

I can’t recommend this book enough. This was a re-read for me this year and I enjoyed it just as much the second time around as I did the first time I read it. This book illustrates the power of reading aloud and the power of books in general. You’ll find yourself drawn into the author’s world; sometimes you’ll be laughing …and sometimes you’ll be in tears. You’ll finish this book wanting to do your own reading streak. And if you don’t know what a reading streak is, you’ll have to read the book to find out. šŸ˜‰

the-phantom-tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

This is undoubtedly one of my top favorites of the children’s literature I read this year. The writing is engaging and creative. The main character, Milo, thinks everything is boring. But a trip in the Phantom Tollbooth changes that! The writing is clever and witty with characters such as Tock, the ticking watch dog whose body has a clock on it (pictured on the cover of the book), and places such as the Island of Conclusions which you get to by jumping. The author’s play on words and development of characters is altogether genius. My daughter loved it as well and read it in just a couple of days.

the-awakening-of-miss-prim

The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera

I love to read books about books and/or reading. So when I read a description of this book, I knew I wanted to read it. Miss Prim, who loves literature, accepts a post of private librarian for a man who also loves books. Yet her employer seems, to Miss Prim, to be quite contrary. Miss Prim had no idea that taking this job would changeĀ her. The book is filled with interesting characters, references to books, and cups of hot tea. I found this to be a delightful read and would totally read it again. Although, I do wish there had been more to the ending. Or better yet…a sequel!

pride-and-prejudice

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I definitely have to include this on my list of favorites. This was such a fun read for me, especially after having seen some of the movie productions of this novel many, many times. Awhile back, I had tried to read Emma and ended up setting it aside because I just couldn’t get into the book (even though I love several of the movie productions). This was NOT the case with Pride and Prejudice. It was fun, engaging, and I read it in a matter of days. As I read it, I kept finding myself picturing various characters from the movies saying the lines. After having read Pride and Prejudice, I now want to try another Jane Austen novel and thus have it as one of my reading goals for 2017.

What were your favorite reads for 2016?

One thought on “My Top Favorite Reads of 2016

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Reading – February 2017 |

Leave a comment

