My Reading Goals for 2017

It’s that time of year when you start seeing people talk about reading challenges for 2017. Well, as you may know, my first attempt at participating in a reading challenge in 2015 did not go so well. I did read a number of books that year; but I ended up reading only ONE book that fit a category for the reading challenge I had chosen! Ha! So, last year I wanted to give a reading challenge another go. I opted for Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2016 Reading Challenge and it worked out much better for me. I felt like it was a more realistic plan since I read a lot of children’s books. Really, I read a wide variety of books in general. Anyway, as of my last post, I had completed all but two categories of the challenge. Since that post, I did complete one more category (and I’ve updated my reading challenge list to reflect that). Woohoo!

books

So, I’ve been mulling over ideas for what I might want to do for 2017. Do I want to try the Back to the Classics Challenge again after failing so miserably with it the first time in 2015? Do I want to go with Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2017 Reading Challenge? Do I want to create my own challenge? I thought about coming up with a challenge myself for reading children’s literature. I also thought about just starting with a list like a Great Books list and work my way through the list of titles. It would not be a challenge based on completing it in a certain time frame. Rather, it would be a challenge based on reading through the list….however long it takes.

What to do, what to do….I can’t decide. I like that participating in the Modern Mrs. Darcy 2016 Challenge helped stretch me a bit to read some titles I may not have otherwise read. Like epic poetry….not a big fan of epic poetry. Like The Count of Monte Cristo…I was so glad I read that. Like finally reading a Jane Austen novel after seeing so many movie productions of her books and loving many of them! Like reading some more contemporary fiction. Like reading a dystopian literature book for the first time and going on to read the whole series (The Giver Quartet).

So….here’s a couple of ideas I have in mind for 2017:

  • I’d like to read another Jane Austen book.
  • I’d like to read a Charles Dicken’s book. I read about half of David Copperfield several years ago and never finished it. I loved what I read though. So I would like to finish that at some point. But I’m thinking I might like to tackle A Tale of Two Cities.
  • I will be reading The Brothers Karamazov. I’ve seen it highly recommended a number of times.
  • And I would like to read The Hunger Games series.

Also, I will be participating in a local book club this year so I will have titles to read for that.

So given those goals, overall, the 2017 Back to the Classics Challenge might be doable……we’ll see. But I’m still considering Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2017 Challenge too. I know I will be reading Children’s literature no matter what challenge I choose. 🙂

Are any of you participating in a reading challenge in 2017? Do you have any specific reading goals for the year? I’d love to hear about it! I’d love to know what books you have in mind to read in 2017.

One thought on “My Reading Goals for 2017

  1. Pingback: 2017 Reading Challenge |

Leave a Comment

