2016 Reading Challenge Spring Update

Over the last couple of months, I took awhile to read my epic poetry selection (I’m so glad I’ve finished it!). I also opted to read a bit less and re-watch some favorite Netflix shows. 🙂 Still, I was able to finish some books for the 2016 reading challenge as well as a few others that weren’t for the challenge.

As usual, I’ll start with books I completed for the challenge then I’ll list the other books I read after that.

Jpeg

Deconstructing Penguins:  Parents, Kids, and the Bond of Reading
by Lawrence and Nancy Goldstone
Category:  A Book You’ve Been Meaning to Read

Jpeg

100 Best-Loved Poems Edited by Philip Smith
Category:  A Book You Own But Have Never Read

Jpeg

Fierce Wars and Faithful Loves:  Book I of Edmund Spenser’s The Faerie Queen
by Edmund Spenser, Updated and Annotated by Roy Maynard
Category:  A Book That Intimidates You

I had mentioned before that epic poetry intimidates me. I thought I would try Paradise Lost by Milton. I attempted to read it and ended up ditching it. So….I opted to go with Fierce Wars and Faithful Loves:  Book I of Edmund Spenser’s The Faerie Queen instead. I wish I could say that reading it helped me like epic poetry more. But nope…it didn’t. Maybe I could say I might be a *little* less intimidated by epic poetry now. Maybe just a wee bit. But I still don’t want to tackle Paradise Lost anytime soon. 🙂

Other Books I Read

Who Was Marco Polo? by Joan Holub
The Year of Miss Agnes by Kirkpatrick Hill
Classic Starts The Adventures of Robin Hood by Howard Pyle, Edited by John Burrows
Messenger by Lois Lowry (#3 in The Giver Quartet Series)

Books Currently In Progress

Son by Lois Lowry (#4 in The Giver Quartet Series)
Daring Greatly by Brené Brown

______________________________________________

I have four categories left to complete in the reading challenge:

  • A Book Published This Year
  • A Book Recommended by Your Local Librarian or Bookseller
  • A Book You Should Have Read in School
  • A Book Chosen for You by Your Spouse, Partner, Sibling, Child, or BFF

As of right now, I have books picked out for two of the categories:

A Book Chosen for You by Your Spouse, Partner, Sibling, Child, or BFF
The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (My daughter chose this one for me.)

A Book You Should Have Read in School
A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

I’m thinking I will start reading The Count of Monte Cristo once I finish Son by Lois Lowry (the 4th and final book in The Giver Quartet series).

Have you read any good books lately?

One thought on “2016 Reading Challenge Spring Update

  1. Nice titles! I am intrigued about Deconstructing Penguins. And yes! I’m fortunate to be in a good reading spree, with great books such as, In Cold Blood, which I finished yesterday, and now The Black Swan (it’s nonfiction about a theory of randomness, nothing to do with the ballet or movie by that title).

    Like

Leave a Comment

